Khalin Kros – Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue

Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue

“Please, you don’t have to do this, I’ll leave I’ll stop just please let me go, please…” Bernd begged her. He’d have been on his knees if the worthless leg would support even that, without mercy there was no escape. Damn him.

Her eyes were the same icy blue he remembered. “He told me to tell you he’s sorry, but let’s be honest he hasn’t meant it for a long time. Farewell, Bernd, I wish I could say it was a pleasure…” Her voice was soft and soothing somehow despite the sting that would follow. With one swift motion she pulled her sword and plunged it into his heart. Just another casualty. It was a shame no one ever really appreciated the genius of her work. She retrieved the token she came for, a small gold circlet around a chain tucked into the expensive jerkin.

She remembered when she first met the General, he had been a friend of her fathers, but so much had changed since she was four. “How did I let it get this far,” she sighed to herself. She had expected this slight moment of grief and let it pass in silence, like always.

No sounds could be heard as she slipped back into the crack in the cave wall and forgot that the man called Bernd ever existed.